Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The nature of time

Type
    INTP
    INTPx Award Winner

The nature of time

I am a biologist with a very limited physics background, but I was standing in my kitchen today and it occurred to me to wonder if time is flowing toward equilibrium with itself. It seems like an idiotic idea because that would imply that time can occur in differing concentrations.

I tried to google it, but any search that has "time," "flow," and "equilibrium" is cluttered with a million irrelevant things, and it sounds like there are people here with a higher concentration of physics knowledge than I. (Luckily your own expertise concentrations will not deplete if some of it flows my way, even though it will require an expenditure of energy, for which I thank you in advance.)
    Last edited by Sistamatic; 05-13-2014 at 09:44 PM.

Type
    INTP
    INTPx Award Winner
    More thoughts:
    The directionality of the flow of time is dependent on
    A. Our perception.
    or
    B. A relative measure of the entropy in the universe or the amount of expansion in the universe.

But absent our perception and these relative measures, there is no way to determine if the flow of time really exists except as a perceptional construct.

The question in my head goes something like this. When entropy has reached it's maximum and all matter in the universe is at equilibrium, and therefore gravity is at equilibrium, will time still flow?

Banned
    Type
    INTP
    First... I'm not familiar enough with the concept of entropy. my understanding is that it's movement towards chaos. Given this understanding, I'm not sure I understand what gravitational equilibrium is, unless it means things have fallen apart so much that everything is spread everywhere, cancelling out all the gravity. I could probably look up these things, but it's more fun to discuss them.

I can't really answer that question until I know that part of it, at the very least.

Type
    INTP