Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: equity and the internet

Type
    intp

equity and the internet

This essay "How the Cult of Internet Openness Enables Misogyny" argues that the current state of the Internet serves to re-establish social hierarchies, rather than flatten them. I wonder if the author chose that title- she speaks to more discrimination than gender alone, though that is the most prevalent. I hope to read the book sometime; it builds from the research I studied in a Communications seminar, and I like the idea of applying urban planning concepts.

If equity is something we value, we have to build it into the system, developing structures that encourage fairness, serendipity, deliberation, and diversity through a process of trial and error. The question of how we encourage, or even enforce, diversity in so-called open networks is not easy to answer, and there is no obvious and uncomplicated solution to the problem of online harassment. As a philosophy, openness can easily rationalize its own failure, chalking people's inability to participate up to choice, and keeping with the myth of the meritocracy, blaming any disparities in audience on a lack of talent or will.

Banned
    Type
    INTP
    So, how can this be changed through a top-down mechanism? Can authority enforce equality? If so, how is it remotely possible for this to be done in a non-hierarchical fashion. Perhaps rules are needed after all, and perhaps pure anarchy is inherently unequal.

If equity is something we value, we have to build it into the system, developing structures that encourage fairness, serendipity, deliberation, and diversity through a process of trial and error. The question of how we encourage, or even enforce, diversity in so-called open networks is not easy to answer, and there is no obvious and uncomplicated solution to the problem of online harassment.