Thread: "If Walt Whitman Vlogged"

"If Walt Whitman Vlogged"

I recently read a piece in The New Yorker (see here: If Walt Whitman Vlogged), which of course had embedded links and so lead me down this rabbit hole that I otherwise would never have gone down if not for my compulsive clicking.

I am curious, I suppose, to see someone raising the same old questions, but with Twitter and YouTube. How do you define poetry, for example? Who is a poet? Does poetry have the capacity to change the world or people, and should we expect it to (cue Auden)? The actual pieces cited (like here ) that I have seen so far are half-annoying, half-beautiful manic rants, and I'm torn between an eye-roll and an admiration for exploring, creating, pushing boundaries. I am just learning and exploring this stuff, and I'm curious to hear your reactions--love? hate?--and your analyses.

Type
    INTP
    Poetry begins with noticing some ways of expressing an idea sound better than others.
    It begins with recognizing clumsy language and elegant language.
    It comes from seeing the multiple entendre, the nuance, the blind spot.
    It births with noticing that certain ways of phrasing stick in the mind better, and that among the techniques that do this, rhyming is the easiest to manifest.

But a poem need not rhyme--at least not in the limited sense of the word most use.
    A good poem will always rhyme, because it will resonate in your mind, your heart, convince you of a soul--
    Even if it convinces you you don't have one.

Good rhetoric, good prose, is rooted in poetry.

Poetry is the lego-blocks, the erector set of the future architect
    It's a proving ground for insight and tragic self-centered musing
    It's a way of forgoing the limitations of formal speech to speak your mind
    As clearly as you can within the obfuscations you need to feel safe.