Thread: Insurance Collective.

Type
    INTP

Insurance Collective.

Hi folks. I'm far from an expert on what I'm about to ask...hence my inquiry here.

So, I have a house, and I pay say, $500 a year to have it insured, as per the requirements of my mortgage.

I hate paying for insurance.

If I could get, say, 2000 home owners to pay $500 into an insurance fund for our homes, collectively, we'd have a million dollars of insurance against the loss of one of our homes. Given that the cost of building a house around here at contractor prices is probably $2-300,000, that million dollars would collectively protect the 2000 members of the collective against the likelihood of 1 in 500 homes being destroyed...and I think the odds there are pretty damn good for the members.

Now, once that initial $500 each was paid, the million dollars could be invested on behalf of the members, and no further premiums would have to be paid in order to remain insured as long as no claims were made. In the case that there were a claim, the expense that the fund would incur could be covered by an incidental top-up-premium(cheaper than the initial $500), or possibly even by the profit made by investing the million dollars.

Now, over time, provided that there were no claims being made, the invested fund would grow and grow and grow, with the potential to have dividends paid out to the 2000 investors that they could use to pay off their mortgages (or for whatever else they wanted, I suppose).

Is there a reason why people don't do this? It seems way better for insurance to be maintained by a collective interest on the part of the insured members than for it to be purchased from for-profit companies.

Thoughts?

Type
    INTP
    It seems reasonable, some obvious hurdles would be:

1) Holding the money in trust so there is no risk of someone making off with it. Probably some legal overhead costs there.