Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: quitting smoking

Merry Christmas
    Type
    INFP

quitting smoking

I was busy travelling so I ended up not smoking for a day and that turned into a plan to stop completely. I haven't smoked since last Tuesday. It might be my pessimistic imagination, but the effects seem to get worse every day. I can't focus at all and I have really important work I need to finish. I'm crying all the time. I slept through most of today.

So my plan was to stop all at once but I'm not sure that's a good strategy anymore; maybe I should do it more gradually. I'd like to be happy. Is there any way to do this without so much stress? Has anyone here quit smoking?

If not, I guess this thread could just be about strategies for overcoming bad habits

Type
    INtP
    INTPx Award Winner
    I have quit many times. I'm an expert.
    This just in: I'm accepting all friend requests too unless you're a fricken jerk and I can't stand your existence and inane drivel. If that's the case, then I'll accept your friend request so I can keep an eye on your ass unless you don't hold any interest for me; then only the threat of keeping my eye on you stands. feces

Persona Oblongata OrionzRevenge's Avatar
    Type
    INtP
    I quit once, but it only lasted for 4 months until life went to hell in a hand-basket.

I have spoken with scores of recovering Hard Drug addicts that still smoke and tell me it is far worse.

If you have been at it a week >>> KEEP GOING! You Can Do It.

Contemplating now resorting to a gradual reduction is what in the RE-Hab trade we call Stinking Thinking. That little Devil on your shoulder kinda stuff.

Maybe check to see if your insurance covers Nic Patches. If so, get your doctor to prescribe you a weening prescription.
    Or E-Cigs.

Anything is better than pulling carcinogens into your lungs constantly.

Remember to breathe deeply when you feel stressed.
    Drink fruit Juice to cleanse.