Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Chronic tiredness

Cooler than Jesus
    Type
    intp

Chronic tiredness

Are you someone that is constantly tired, out of energy, feeling like taking a nap, or just saying fuck it all and going to Alaska? If so, how does it impact your life? What do you do to combat it?

I have a full time job that results in me being out of the house for about 11 hours a day. I work a regular 8 hour workday, but my daily round-trip commute is about 2 hours, and there is another hour lunch break in there. On top of that, I'm working on industry-related certifications that require about 12 hours a week of studying. This has made me realize the fact that I am constantly tired, and that when I'm tired, I'm much shittier at concentration, memory retention, and other general cognitive stuff. When I'm studying I have a hard time concentrating for as little as 10 minutes. The other day though, after having some free time, I took a short nap in the afternoon and was able to study for a full hour with no problem whatsoever. Considering I don't get home until 9pm, taking a nap typically isn't possible.

I realize there's various things you can do to combat this. Exercise, not drinking alcohol before bed, getting at least 6-8 hours of sleep, etc, but even when I've done these things and wake up feeling refreshed, the fact that I'm commuting, working, or being annoyed by coworkers (lunch hour) for 11 hours saps a lot of energy. It's difficult to muster energy to do the daily tasks required in life, prepare meals, study, and have any time left over for recreation/socialization.

Type
    INTP