Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Goodreads

chaotic neutral shitpost jigglypuff's Avatar
    Type
    xxxx

Goodreads

who's on goodreads?

let's share our links and keep track of what we're reading! mine's in my sig.

(i'm gonna read more instead of hang out on forums while i've got classes cuz i'm a Good Student now.)

Mens bona regnum possidet ferrus's Avatar
    Type
    INTP
    I am.

Oh and I fully agree that reading more is a Good Thing, you learn infinitely more from that than the echo chambers online. The thing you might find difficult at times is that the internet is addictive primarily because everything is so quick and rapid. Your brain is sort of wired up to want that kind of stimulus. A good book is a much more long term, patient pleasure in the manner of drinking a glass of wine. It is hard to transition to it.
    Die Logik ist keine Lehre, sondern ein Spiegelbild der Welt. Die Logik ist transcendental. - Wittgenstein

Type
    xxxx
    Quote Originally Posted by ferrus View Post
    I am.

Oh and I fully agree that reading more is a Good Thing, you learn infinitely more from that than the echo chambers online. The thing you might find difficult at times is that the internet is addictive primarily because everything is so quick and rapid. Your brain is sort of wired up to want that kind of stimulus. A good book is a much more long term, patient pleasure in the manner of drinking a glass of wine. It is hard to transition to it.
    for sure. it's hard to transition to reading again and ignore the internet. even sometimes when i'm reading i'll have this urge to stop in the middle, thinking "i have to tell someone about this!!!" it's not totally unhealthy, but it is instant gratification mentality that the internet and social media is constantly reinforcing and it doesn't help when one is looking for a form of long-term escapism and/or learning. (loneliness and lack of stimulation while reading? i would've found that concept bizarre in my teens.)