Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Career change to software /web development

Type
    INTP

Career change to software /web development

I need your insight guys.
    Especially from the technology geeks.
    I have a day job,family and i am 40.

What do you think is the most efficient way to get into software /web development without quitting my job?

My backround has nothing to do with computers.
    I have a degree in journalism and an MBA.
    My working experience is in television/radio news reporting and human resources managemet.

There are universities that offer computer science degrees where i live, so i could enroll on a part time basis.
    I suppose i will not need 4 years to complete the degree cause they will recognise some credits from my previous degree.

Then threre are those online bootcamps that teach programming.

Anyway please shed some light to all us blind INTPs that want to transition to software/web development or think they want that.

Tawaci ki a Gnaska ki Osito Polar's Avatar
    Type
    INTP
    Quote Originally Posted by username View Post
    What do you think is the most efficient way to get into software /web development without quitting my job?
    Get a bunch of computers you can use, and start a home network. Start simple -- have a desktop PC, a laptop, some other systems that use the same network that are used by other people and just set things up so you can configure the network, monitor it, administer services that people can use, etc. In this way, you start out with a hobby and use it to teach yourself new job skills.

I'd do that for a while BEFORE considering going back to school or paying for a bootcamp.
    "I don't have psychological problems." --Madrigal

"When you write about shooting Polemarch in the head, that's more like a first-person view, like you're there looking down the sight of the gun." --Utisz

David Wong, regarding Chicago