Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: suggest a masters topic for me

Type
    intp

suggest a masters topic for me

I think I want to start a masters degree in January/February and I'm fairly confused about how the topic thing works.

I've been procrastinating for a while on this, so hence I'm making this thread in case anyone has some nice pointers or suggestions to get me moving. It would be very well appreciated.

The masters degree would be a research based one. It would be directed towards data analysis/data science/that whole thing. That to me sounds like fun. I'm slightly wary that the area might be overhyped, but I'd also ultimately be happy with other options in that general direction.

I'm basically looking to get into that kind of area, by getting a masters degree, because I never did any internships.

I have a degree in "maths and computer science", so I have a solid undergraduate level of maths and also solid programming ability without much practice working on real things. I think it would be best to try to capitalise a little bit on maths ability, but also combining with programming stuff. That mix of the two really interests me as well (the variety, application, etc).

But I'm very confused about what to do from this point. I think I'm supposed to email some professors, or the school in general and make some application and pretty much tell them what I'm interested in. But I don't really know. I don't know what exists and whether something is viable or whatever.

So, what are some interesting masters projects I could consider?

Type
    INxP