Senior Member Tetris Champion notdavidlynch's Avatar
    Type
    INXP

Taking work home

priv
    Last edited by notdavidlynch; 04-25-2017 at 11:32 PM. Reason: acy

Type
    intp
    When I was a teacher, that was the norm. At one job, the head of my department was proclaiming how we all ought to be nice to ourselves by designating one day of the weekend as our own day to relax and not do work - hers was Sunday - but that we really needed to work the other day of the weekend. Fuck that, the weekend is mine. At another school where I rode to work each day, the other guy in the office was concerned about how I would be able to take work home each day with my bike. Jesus fucking christ. My friend worked the telephones for a company that installs the heating vents above automatic sliding doors. He got paid slightly less but got home and played Playstation or whatever he wanted.

In my case, my general reluctance to forfeit having a life meant that I wasn't very good at my job. If I had cared more about the job and if I had enjoyed the work more, then I think it may have been wise to do a bit more work at home. But... personally I wouldn't want it to become a normal/regular thing. I also wouldn't want people at work to start expecting that from me. It seems to be becoming the trend, but I really disagree with it. I want my own time to be uncompromised.

From my own experience, when I began to fall behind schedule with something, I would tend to hope that I would catch up by doing extra work later on, and so I wouldn't really mention it to anyone, and the problem may just get worse, compounding my reluctance to mention anything. My own pride thinking I could handle it. In hindsight, I would say it may be good to be a little more diplomatically transparent. Maybe mention this new feature and how it impacted your initial estimate.