Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Non-Traditional Careers/Goals

Type
    XNTP

Non-Traditional Careers/Goals

I'm am 32 and getting ready to enter the world of academia for the second time.

I was a traditional student the first time pursing college fresh out of high school. However, I was more in love with the idea of learning as much as possible in college than attaining a degree. After five years of school all I had to show for myself was a General Associates degree and 8,000,000 of debt. I had maxed out all my federal loan options and had no other choice but to leave school.

Eight years latter I am now in a position to afford school again. This time I am going to school with more of a plan but it is far from a traditional career choice.

I am planning to double major in Forensic Chemistry {This was also my previous major) and Business Entrepreneurship. The reason, I chosen to double Major is because, I have learn from the last Eight years of cycling threw jobs, that there is always one common complaint. I don't like doing things that don't make since to me. When ever I work for someone else I have to do what make since to them even if it doesn't work for me.

Chemistry is still my first love and being an antithetical chemist is my dream job. Forensic help me feel useful in what I am doing as antithetical can be tedious and pointless in the wrong situation. However, in a traditional setting Forensic Chemistry still has all the draw backs of every other job I've ever had. So, I am going to use the fact that I live in a rural community to my advantage and do Forensic Chemistry on a Consulting basis. Therefore, I am my own boss. The issue with this is now two fold though. First Consulting in a rural area isn't going to bring me a lot of work as most crimes don't justify the pay of a forensic Consultant in rural America. Secondly, I know literally close to nothing about running a successful business. This is were the Business degree and part one of my plan comes.