Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Engineering.

Type
    INTJ
    INTPx Award Winner

Engineering.

The forum search didn't yield any salient results on this topic, so I thought I'd make a thread for engineering-related bits and pieces. I am not an engineer but I do have a soft spot for the "ghost in the machine".

Are there any professional or amateurs engineers on this forum? Engineering students, perhaps? I wonder what the job chances are these days.

Here is a video of a rather neat ornithopter for a start.

Type
    INTJ
    INTPx Award Winner
    Being a computer field service engineer was one of the best jobs I ever had. I'm not even sure it exists anymore as a job, it was on its way out at the end of the nineties as component repairs that I had trained and been educated for, gave way to module repairs (e.g. whole boards instead of components on the boards) and eventually, entire replacement units, with the old ones being taken back to the lab, effectively relegating us to FedEx on some jobs.

Having said that, in the heyday, it was wonderful to grab a stack of regional assignments, figuring the sequence/route (pre GPS days) - grabbing spare parts that you think you might need (Laserjet fuser rolls/units ahoy! - Oki platen cogs, etc) people were always happy to see the repair guy arrive (in the start we wore suits, but as exclusivity waned, new people downgraded it to a shirt with no tie)

I can recommend electronics engineering and computer science education/degrees as a sorting hat of sorts (glad I made the switch from engineering)

Type
    INTJ
    INTPx Award Winner
    Quote Originally Posted by Limey View Post