Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gamification success

Type
    INTP

Gamification success

EDIT: In hindsight, this post looks like some clumsy advertisement. My purpose is not to benefit financially; I am not offering a subscription link where I'd get a commission. My purpose is to exchange views on a project I find life-changing. If someone wants to try out my ideas, I will be happy to help.

Folks,
    I've been experimenting with gamification ideas. Early this summer I finally implemented a system to gamify my domestic chores and many other tasks on my to do -list. I have been using it for a few months now.

And it works.

My home home has transformed into a much cleaner place and it stays that way. I meet more people now. Every day, no matter how difficult, I find the motivation to complete some tasks. And all this is from a lazy INTP.

Technically, my system is fairly easy for anyone to copy. It is about as easy as building a simple Excel spreadsheet. A smart phone is needed and ideally a PC or at least a tablet. The bit which may take some time and persistence is learning how to break larger undertakings into tasks that fit nicely into the system.

Brief description: I list my tasks in Todoist application and the system rewards points for every completed task. These points are shown in a Google Sheets spreadsheet and I spend them to play computer games. To clarify, I don't play any more computer games than I did previously. The absolute amount of time spent on games can be adjusted; the system can be calibrated. What happens is that the relative amount of time I spend on games each week depends on how much many chores I do. Nowadays I tend to do more chores. Obviously, someone else might choose other rewards than games.