Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Can an artist statement ever be too inappropriate?

Senior Member Tetris Champion notdavidlynch's Avatar
    Type
    INXP

Can an artist statement ever be too inappropriate?

I just sent this off to a prof coordinating a show. Maybe it'll dawn on them how much I fucking hate them. Or maybe they just won't put it up.

Hello, my name is notdavidlynch. I am a senior art major at UCSB. I majored in art because I donít want a real job when I graduate. My paintings are usually made in an aggressive and agitated mental state.

I had these two filing cabinets that I was using as squat stands and <name removed> got rid of them without asking me, hence the painting of his face. I had to spend a bunch of money to get a real pair of squat stands. Thanks <name removed>.

When I made the second, untitled painting, I was thinking about how much I hate performance art. I set out to make a really bad painting, confident that no matter how bad it was, it would interest me more than any piece of performance art in the history of the world. I decided that I wanted to start over and began to clean off the canvas with running water, but then decided that Iíd rather just go home and go to sleep, so I left it sitting there. Later on someone said they liked it, and I was like LOL do you even art bro?

Type
    INTP
    I think you should be more honest. What you wrote reads like it was written to elicit a certain reaction. I don't know anything about art, though, I just always though it was supposed to be really authentic, even to the point of making people uncomfortable. I like the middle paragraph.

chaotic neutral shitpost
    Type
    xxxx
    trolly statements would be fine if they were well-written.* that kind of statement makes you sound perpetually undergrad, like you can't see a future beyond being a student, imo.

"i don't want a real job" but you do want a real job, an art job. you want some way to make a living. that's what i mean...