Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Career dissatisfaction

.: PERSISTENCE IS ALL :. Pan_Sonic_000's Avatar
    Type
    ENxx

Career dissatisfaction

It seems like every 5 years or so, all the passion I had my work/field vanishes and I'm left trying to balance mounting disinterest against vital considerations such as earning money, saving for retirement and not just sitting at home unemployed like a useless bum. I hoped this recurring process would've stopped in my twenties and I was sure it had until a year ago when I realized that, once again, I just don't give a fuck about this anymore (what I do for a living) and the vision of myself continuing on for another 20 to 30 years at the expense of other fresher interests was horrifying.

I feel guilty because of all the effort, schooling and time I invested into launching a career in my previously chosen field. The cliched stories of broke students living out of vending machines and digging for change under the sofa cushions as they pursued their dreams was my reality. I worked hard. And the day I got my first offer letter for my first job was one of the grand highlights of my life. But now, the very prospect of getting an offer letter to remain on this path leaves me with a feeling of dread. The money is good and the resume boost would be undeniable - but I don't care about that.

The pattern seems to be that I work intensely hard at something until I'm really good at it and have applied myself to a few challenging projects successfully. And that's when the boredom sets in. Everyone else seems to want to climb higher and become more secure, successful and established. But that shit doesn't hold my interest for long and then I'm off wanting to learn and do something completely new. It's not that I can't build a little empire for myself, it's that I know I can - so why bother?